



# The Art of Georgia II: Portraits of a Community



### **ABOUT THE PROGRAM:**

The Office of the Governor in partnership with Georgia Council for the Arts is pleased to announce a call for entries for *The Art of Georgia II: Portraits* of a Community. This second iteration of the exhibit follows the inaugural *Art of Georgia: Celebrating Georgia's Landscapes and People* which exhibited 133 works by 95 Georgia artists over a two-year period from 2012-2014.

The Art of Georgia II: Portraits of a Community seeks to capture the uniqueness of communities throughout Georgia as seen, explored, and depicted through the artist's eye. Two-dimensional visual art, in a variety of media, exploring this theme will be considered. The exhibit will hang in the executive offices of the State Capitol and showcase current work of contemporary Georgia visual artists. Artwork will be sought and selected by region over a two-year time frame, with work from each region on display for approximately six-months. Three-dimensional work and film and video instillations are not eligible. This is not a professional, juried competition. Pieces will be selected by Georgia Council for the Arts and the Office of the Governor. All decisions are final.

# **ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES:**

Work is being sought from contemporary Georgia artists, ages 18 and up, currently residing in Georgia. The initial call is for work from artists residing in Northeast Georgia (see map below). The call for entries will subsequently be issued in Southwest Georgia, Metro-Atlanta, Southeast Georgia, and finally Northwest Georgia over a two-year period. Each region has its own deadline; please see below for the submission date and the detailed county list. Please pay particular attention to the year work is being sought in your region. Entries must explore the theme of the rich diversity and uniqueness of Georgia's communities. Interpretations of the theme (geography, people, landmark, landscape, etc) are encouraged. Painting, drawing, photography, printmaking, and mixed media are all eligible. Three-dimensional work, film and video are not eligible and will not be considered.

# **SUBMISSION GUIDELINES:**

- No more than three entries per artist
- All entries must be emailed to gaarts@gaarts.org with "The Art of Georgia" as the subject
- Images must be submitted as a jpeg attachment and cannot exceed 72 dpi
- Each image must be titled with the artists name followed by the name of the piece
- In the body of the email be sure to include the artists name and complete contact information (address, county of residence, phone and email) as well as the following information about each piece of work: title, medium, dimensions, year completed

#### **DEADLINES:**

Northeast Georgia: February 16, 2015 | Southwest Georgia: August 3, 2015 Metro-Atlanta: February 1, 2016 | Southeast Georgia: August 1, 2016 Northwest Georgia: February 1, 2017







### **REGION 1: NORTHEAST GEORGIA**

Baldwin Banks Barrow Burke Clarke Columbia Elbert Franklin Glascock Greene Habersham Hall Hancock Hart Jackson Jasper Jefferson Jones Lincoln

Deadline: February 16, 2015 Lumpkin Madison McDuffie Morgan Newton Oconee Oglethorpe Putnam Rabun Richmond Stephens Taliaferro Towns Union Walton Warren Washington White Wilkes

#### **REGION 2: SOUTHWEST GEORGIA**

Deadline: August 3, 2015

Baker	Miller
Ben Hill	Mitchell
Berrien	Muscogee
Brooks	Pulaski
Calhoun	Quitman
Chattahoochee	Randolph
Clay	Schley
Colquitt	Seminole
Cook	Stewart
Crisp	Sumter
Decatur	Terrell
Dooly	Thomas
Dougherty	Tift
Early	Turner
Grady	Webster
Irwin	Wilcox
Lee	Worth
Lowndes	Houston
Macon	Peach
Marion	

#### **REGION 3: METRO ATLANTA**

Deadline: February 1, 2016

Cobb	Fulton
DeKalb	Gwinnett



# **REGION 4: SOUTHEAST GEORGIA**

Deadline: August 1, 2016

Bleckley Dodge Appling Atkinson Bacon Brantley Bryan Bulloch Camden Candler Charlton Chatham Clinch Coffee Echols Effingham Emanuel Evans Glynn Jeff Davis

Jenkins Johnson Lanier Laurens Liberty Long McIntosh Montgomery Pierce Screven Tattnall Telfair Toombs Treutlen Ware Wayne Wheeler Wilkinson Twiggs

## **REGION 5: NORTHWEST GEORGIA**

Deadline: February 1, 2017

Bartow Butts Carroll Catoosa Chattooga Cherokee Clayton Coweta Dade Dawson Douglas Fannin Fayette Floyd Forsyth Gilmer Gordon Haralson Harris Heard

Henry Lamar Meriwether Monroe Murray Paulding Pickens Pike Polk Rockdale Spalding Talbot Taylor Troup Upson Walker Whitfield Bibb Crawford